What Most Doctors Don’t Know About Social Security Disability – And The SSA Doesn’t Tell You!

I had a follow-up doctor’s appointment a while back. I told him about the last two months health-wise, and brought him up-to-date with my most recent Social Security Disability Hearing and told him that it probably wasn’t looking good for me… Again. As usual, he couldn’t understand why I was still fighting; and then we continued on with my appointment.

I was about to leave the room and something popped up in my head (I love how my brain works now). I stopped, and asked him if he ‘knew of a form I read about online that Social Security apparently wants from doctors. That for some (ridiculous) reason, the SSA doesn’t really give too much weight to short letters written from the doctor; but this “Residual Functioning Capacity” form (linked below) is pretty important… Apparently, it can be the deciding factor in some cases?’doctor-patient-consultation

I don’t think my brain said it as eloquently when I spoke, but luckily he understands me–even when I babble and slur.

It turned out though, that he didn’t really know anything about this form (he ‘thinks he heard of it’, he claimed, but asked me to send him a copy)! I can’t blame him for not really knowing about it honestly. A doctor’s word should matter to the courts when it comes to treating and supporting his or her patient–and Social Security should use any records or letters put into evidence, as long as they detail the diagnoses and note whether or not they consider the patient permanently disabled.

But if a doctor’s letter doesn’t entirely count as far as the SSA is concerned, why hasn’t this practice been changed?

What concerns me is how many doctors don’t seem to know about this form (or how to file for Disability). They believe Social Security should take their word as gold that their patient is permanently disabled. But Social Security is basically stating, ‘Your letter and word as a physician isn’t enough, we want you to fill out an eight page form explaining, in detail, what their disability entails’.
0328eaa9-e829-4681-a268-1485280d3bd0_400_282

With today’s technology, why can’t someone contact the doctor if they have any further questions (beyond the medical records)? Wouldn’t it be better to have a more personal account of a patient rather than make them fill out a detailed, “Can your patient lift 5/10/20 pounds on a regular basis – if so/not, please explain” form.

Instead, everyone’s fate rests on the hand of the SSA’s expert medical witness’ testimony (whom may or may not specialize in your illness(es)) by reading only the doctor’s notes–yet not hearing from the patient themselves. Therefore, they are basing their opinions on medical records that may or may not be detailed and complete.

Can you imagine the scores of people that keep getting denied Social Security and are constantly struggling, becoming homeless, and even dying because this ONE FORM wasn’t filled out by doctors–most likely because they didn’t know that it existed in the first place? (Note: When I tried finding it through the Social Security Website, I kept getting a “404 Error” message every time I tried to reach the page – It does exist though – see below for the link!).

PLEASE, everyone, SHARE this page! Tell your friends that are fighting, or about to start their fight, for their Disability benefits to print out the RFC form linked below–and make sure your doctor gets a copy. Have them share it with their colleagues!

Help stop this insanity!PH

There’s so much I would have loved to have known when I became ill enough to be ultimately forced to apply for Disability. I truly hope that this helps someone so they don’t have to go through what I have… and still am because of poor medical treatment and recordkeeping.

I eventually began searching online, rather than the SSA website for the form, and finally found a copy that can be printed out HERE (pdf version). I’m hoping that doctors will start hearing more about the RFC form–and start helping their patients with disabilities win their Disability fight in a timely manner by filling it out.

I’m hoping even more that Social Security catch up to the times and realize that today’s doctors aren’t old school like Social Security still is (Come on, the system has barely changed since 1935–Over eighty years!). Doctors just don’t have time with the amount of patients they have to take care of today to fill out eight-page reports. Detailed notes (including via telephone) and detailed record keeping should be able to properly show a patient’s health status without question; while a patient’s testimony should be taken strongly into consideration–especially if a case lasts longer than five years.

No one should have to wait more than five years for their benefits.

Both the Social Security System and the medical industry need to create a simpler system that both can work with, so people that are truly disabled get their benefits in a more timely, and less stressful manner.

It is our money after all.

Until the laws get changed though, get that RFC form to your doctor’s office and ask them to fill it out along with your Disability application.

Good luck!!!

4 thoughts on “What Most Doctors Don’t Know About Social Security Disability – And The SSA Doesn’t Tell You!

  1. Thanks so much for making us aware. I have a lot of friends who probably could have used this at one point or another in their battle to get SSDI.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for this!! I successfully downloaded it and started to cry when I read these questions. Why? Because I’m disabled. I know it, I know my doctors know it, even though getting them to say it out loud is the stuggle. This is probably the best information I’ve learned about filing since I started looking into it years ago. Thank you so much!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

